One of the most tedious tasks for new organizations is to handle employee management responsibilities. While larger established firms have a dedicated HR team to take care of these activities, new businesses may find themselves in ‘what to do’ situations. Thankfully, there are human resource outsourcing services available, making the job easier and cost-efficient.
Starting July 1, 2016, the minimum wage for workers in all unincorporated cities within LA County was expected to increase yearly, under the Minimum Wage Enforcement Ordinances.
The minimum wage in the state of California was increased from $10.00 to $10.50 per hour for businesses with more than 26 employees, starting 1st January, 2017. However, the minimum wage for businesses with 25 or less employees will remain unchanged until 2018. This translates to a minimum annual salary of $43,680 and $41,600 starting in 2017.
Notable differences in minimal wage requirements between the City of LA and the County of LA
Although the minimum wage laws of the County of Los Angeles are similar to the requirements of the City and the State of California, there are a few differences that employers should take note of:
1. All employers with 26 or more employees are required to post a certain notice – published by the County – at all jobsites situated within unincorporated areas of LA County where there are employees. Keep in mind that the count only includes employees working within the geographical boundaries of the County.
2. Employers in LA County are required to provide written notice of tip policies and other items to all their employees. The employer is expected to provide each employee with a written statement indicating:
- The employer’s name, trade names, email address, telephone number, and physical and mailing address of the main office
- The employer’s pay rates
- The employer’s tip policy, stating any tip allocation, pooling, or sharing policies
- The employer’s pay schedule – shift, hour, day, week, month, commission
- A formula that can be used by the DCBA to identify the rate of pay/total pay for each employee
- The established wage or salary pay day for the period’s earnings
- Any other information as stated in the Director’s Rules
3. This requirement does not apply to their counterparts in the City of Los Angeles. On the other hand, the notice requirements are similar to those imposed for the state of California under the Labor Code section. However, the California state requirements don’t require some of the disclosures mandated in LA County, such as the employer’s tip policy or the amount to be deducted from each employee’s pay period.
Why Choose Champion HR Services?
Employers subject to the LA County ordinance – those with over 26 employees and operating in unincorporated areas – such as restaurant owners need to review the details to be included in notices provided to their employees to be compliant with both County and state requirements.
We can help to keep your operations in unincorporated areas of LA County compliant with all workforce-related state and County policies. It is our work to stay current on employer and employee related laws that affect your business, and guide you accordingly to avoid any legal issues.