Doing business in California just became more difficult for employers who do not provide paid sick leave for their employees.
Effective July 1, 2015, employers in California will be required to give part-time and full-time workers a minimum of three days paid sick leave annually, mandated by State law.
The new law, recently signed by Gov. Jerry Brown, gives workers paid sick leave of one hour for every 30 hours worked and lets them begin using that accrued time after 90 days of employment. The law also requires that employers allow employees to use part of their accrued sick leave time to take care of a sick child, parent, spouse, domestic partner, or child of a domestic partner.
Many employers currently offer paid sick leave to their employees, but many industries such as restaurants, small retail, construction and home cleaning services do not. This will now require that they amend their employee policies and create a system to track and monitor sick leave accrual and usage.
Here are some quotes from Gov. Jerry Brown outlining his motivations for this new law:
“There is a growing inequality between workers and business owners”, called the mandate “really modest.”
“When you look at the power and the wealth that is accumulated by a very small percentage, and then you look at the people at the bottom … this is the least we can do and there’s more in the coming years,” Brown said. “This is a real step forward.”
This new law will require accurate record keeping and a proactive approach to notifying employees (postings and handbooks) and ensure compliance with the law. This could be just another tool in the hands of an attorney.
If you need help deciphering this new labor law, or any other HR issue, please contact the experts at Champion at firstname.lastname@example.org.
- 2 Oct, 2014
- Tom Elias
- 0 Comments